About

Our work is in Shropshire, Herefordshire, southern Staffordshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and Telford & Wrekin.

what we are working towards:

  1. Vulnerable householders being supported to live with dignity at home, where cold doesn’t affect physical and mental health, and energy bills aren’t a worry.
  2. Well-informed householders making their homes more energy efficient, warmer and cheaper to run, producing significantly less carbon and generating their own power.
  3. Promoting trusted local companies that are able to install energy saving measures that work, and which use a local workforce, thereby helping to retain money in our local economies.
  4. Encouraging communities to work together to share knowledge and learning to create more vibrant and resilient places.
  5. Climate change will impact most on the vulnerable. We want to see a more significant leadership role from Local Authorities, preventative health organisations, faith networks, colleges and NGOs, able to influence, train and inspire in our shift to a low carbon society.

our staff

Simon Ross

Director

Contact Simon to explore and develop projects and funding opportunities.

01743 277106
07748 508704
simon@mea.org.uk

Davina Allen

Operations Manager

Davina manages home energy projects across the West Midlands.

01743 277124
davina@mea.org.uk

Phil Newcombe

Project Manager

Phil works across a broad range of energy efficiency, ‘carbon’ saving and fuel poverty projects.

01743 277118
phil@mea.org.uk

Helen Batty

Energy Adviser

Helen supports householders through our energy advice lines.

helen@mea.org.uk

Ray Everett

Energy Adviser

Ray provides in-depth support for householders struggling with cold homes.

ray@mea.org.uk

Peter Burgess-Allen

Project Manager

Pete runs our work in Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire, especially with the Local Authority Energy Partnership and community groups. He also delivers fuel poverty projects in Derby and Derbyshire including home visits.

07908 436806
peter@mea.org.uk

Claire Woolley

Project Manager

Claire works on projects aiming to educate the public about energy-related issues and train frontline workers to support vulnerable people facing fuel poverty.

01743 296215
claire@mea.org.uk

Heather Kieniewicz

Project Manager

Heather works closely with Local Authorities and partners to deliver fuel poverty projects in Shropshire, especially through the Warm Homes Fund.

01743 292 023
heather@mea.org.uk

Jennifer Christian 

Project Manager

Jenny works across wide range of fuel poverty, energy efficiency, and renewable energy projects - including the Local Authority Deliver Scheme, Social Housing Decarbonisation Fund, and developing our Trusted Installers Framework.

01773300308
jennifer@mea.org.uk

Faiqa Adeel

Project Manager

Faiqa manages our 'Fuel for Food' project in Derbyshire, which supports struggling foodbank users with energy related issues.

01332943219
faiqa@mea.org.uk

Abi Carr

Energy Adviser

Abi supports householders through our energy advice lines.

abi@mea.org.uk

Emma Eccles

Energy Adviser

Emma supports householders through our energy advice lines.

emma@mea.org.uk

Shital Visana

Energy Adviser

Shital supports householders in Derbyshire through our energy advice line. She also supports our work with the Local Authority Energy Partnership and climate change-focused community groups in Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire.

shital@mea.org.uk

Kevin Bell

Energy Adviser

Kevin directly supports householders in the West Midlands through our energy advice line.

kevin@mea.org.uk

Alpa

Community Outreach Worker
Walsall

James engages with communities and Local Authorities to support the delivery of the Warmer Homes West Midlands project.

alpa@mea.org.uk

James Foster       

Community Outreach Worker
Wolverhampton       

James engages with communities and Local Authorities to support the delivery of the Warmer Homes West Midlands project.                                                                            

james@mea.org.uk

Philip Towers

Office Administrator

 

philiptowers@mea.org.uk 

Graham Sparrow

Volunteer Administrator

Graham is a volunteer administrator and maintains our database.

Our History

Marches Energy Agency was formed in 1996 as an off-shoot of Shropshire Council’s Energy Team and became an independent energy charity in 1998. We celebrated 21 years in October 2018.

We have supported and inspired thousands of householders, communities, businesses and schools to take action on fuel poverty, energy reduction, renewables and climate change, and are looking forward to another 20 years of good service.

Our Office

Our Shrewsbury office is rated excellent under the BREEAM Environmental Assessment Methodology.

The building showcases high levels of insulation, a heat recovery system and a range of renewable energy heating and energy generation systems.